WE BOUGHT A HOUSE

img_0372

As of November 28 this adorable Dutch Colonial will be ours! Since I’m not sure that there’s ever been interior updates, we’ll be making A LOT of changes, so I’m starting this blog to document the fun.

First, we are, in fact, moving to the burbs. We had been talking about buying for a while – I’ve been in Boston for eight years and Chad for 12 – all the while renting. For a short time we entertained the idea of buying a condo in the city, but in the long run a driveway, backyard, and bonus – a pool(!) makes the most sense for us.

I had been keeping an eye on the scary thing that is the housing market and quickly learned that no matter how many times I tweaked my wish list on Redfin (3 beds, 2 baths, dream town), what I believed to be true was confirmed: the Boston suburbs are stupidly over priced. As I went a little more crazy each day without a dishwasher or in-unit laundry, we agreed to start looking in early 2017, giving ourselves a few months to relax after our July wedding. But being the inpatient person that I am, I convinced Chad to meet with a realtor shortly (like two weeks) after we got back from our honeymoon.

We found an amazing agent and started to hone in on Walpole. It’s not too far from the city, has great schools, and a lot of convenient perks, which is huge for me (I live for a 24-hour CVS). Once Chad was on board, he went full steam ahead. He found this house and sent it to me multiple times. I wasn’t sold. The house was built in the 1900’s and, as we later found out, has only had two owners. The most recent has been there since 1960 and is the culprit of the yellow countertops and shingles (yes, shingles) in the kitchen. There’s lot of carpet, even more wallpaper, one full BLUE bathroom, and a half bath with a kitty-cornered sink (how?!).

On the flip side, it’s been kept up really well and we’ll the third owners in a century, how crazy is that? There’s beautiful hardwood throughout, a sun room, and a big fireplace – good “bones” and a lot of potential, as they say.

I’m REALLY excited for this next chapter and invite you to join me (and a lot of Chad) as I chronicle our move from the city to the suburbs and into our fixer upper. And if you ever want North End restaurant recommendations, I’ll always be your girl.

Leave a Reply

